Outstanding, Professional, Personalized Care With Heart

By Laura O on 05/25/2017 (Published on RateABiz)

I have never written a review about anything before. However I have never been so moved to write a review as I am about the care I have received at James Otten Dentistry. I had what I believe to be quite a complicated set of issues…. Decay upon decay with TMJ. My teeth were ground down from severe night grinding, I had 6? root canals (which Dr. Otten referred me to the most wonderful fast, painless endodontist), and I can’t even remember how many crowns and veneers. I am sure there were more issues than that, it just all seems like such a blur to me now. Dr. Otten and his team was working on me on a regular basis for almost 2 years until everything was finally under control. On top of that I have Generalized Anxiety Disorder which makes me a very difficult patient to work with. But Dr. Otten, Vicki, Anh, Brenda, Deb, Joanna, and Michaela, (Sorry for any misspellings) were forever patient with me. I kept traveling and having problems far away from home and calling them in a panic. They would always stay calm and call whatever needed to be called in for me where I was at the time. They will do WHATEVER it takes to take care of their patients. They are serious about quality care. Both physical and mental. Also while I was in the middle of my time there they had a break in and were wiped out of all sorts of tools and equipment (bizarre). However they were up and running again within 2 days. They knew they couldn’t leave people hanging. They just won’t give up on taking care of their patients. I once called in on a weekend and Dr. Otten came stopped his gardening to run in and fix my provisional veneer. Outstanding. I have moved away from Lawrence now, but I still drive 3.5 hours back to go to Dr. Otten for maintenance appointments. I wouldn’t go anywhere else no matter where I lived. They make me feel like family, but still manage to maintain a professional feel about it. I trust them 100%. I can’t say that about any of my medical doctors or many other people. They are worth every penny that is ever paid them. Godspeed to Anh as she moves on. She will be sorely missed. I feel as though I was given a gift in finding Dr. Otten and his team. A much needed break in this sometimes confusing, sometimes scary world.

Responded 05/25/2017

Laura – It has been an honor and privilege to help you achieve your oral health goals. We are so that you’re part of our dental family. Warmest regards, Jim & Team


 

By Kathleen Lane on 05/13/2017 (Published on RateABiz)

Thank you for the opportunity to provide feedback … my first visit was a stellar experience: professional, personal, and thorough!

 


 

By Todd Williams on 05/10/2017 (Published on RateABiz)

Describes excellent collaboration with periodontist re: implant. Explained goal of visit in detail and geared discussion to my level of understanding. Goal was to ‘map” my mouth for implant model and evaluate mechanics of bite possible teeth grinding and other “stuff” that may contribute to periodontal disease. Great sense of humor. Staff was very cheery, helpful and competent. A bit of a revelation as to what really modern dentistry can offer in a more holistic analysis. Office arrangement and décor was well laid out and surprisingly well done. Even the lab was cool, but I’m a lab geek. Yes I’d recommend Jim aka Lola’s Dad

 


 

By Caryl Chacey-Guba on 05/04/2017 (Published on RateABiz)

Everyone in the office went out of their way to make this new patient feel welcome! The office atmosphere is calming and so are the staff. I was given an appointment quickly even though I am new, and I have another appointment scheduled. I have definitely found a dental care home!

Responded 05/04/2017

Carly, we strive to make every experience a warm and welcoming as well as informative one! Thank you for placing your trust in us. It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to working with you! JOtten and team!

 


 

By Karen Miller on 05/02/2017 (Published on RateABiz)

Dr. Otten treats my whole family. Through his careful attention to detail, he’s caught larger health issues for both my daughter (damaged jaw joints) and husband (severe sleep apnea) — and his office has helped us find top-rate follow-up treatment. I also appreciate how knowledgeable and thorough his hygienist is. She’s great at helping me fine-tune my home-care. The entire office really cares about their patients!

Responded 05/02/2017

Thank you Karen, we love seeing your family. Debbie

 


 

By Carlena Haney on 04/12/2017 (Published on RateABiz)

I have always though Debbie was the best hygienist who has ever cleaned my teeth, plus I just plain like her. My fondness extends to everyone else in the office too. Good service, good people.

Responded 04/13/2017

Carlena, Thank you for your kinds words. I love what I do and am so happy I have the opportunity to work with you. It is always wonderful to see people like yourself who brighten my day!

 


 

By Jim Green on 04/12/2017 (Published on RateABiz)

As always, Dr Otten and the entire staff are professional, knowledgeable, friendly and very talented at their job. Dr Otten and Debby the hygenist are extremely thorough. They always go above and beyond average to deliver exceptional service and results. They truley care about my long term dental health.

Responded 04/13/2017

Thank you Jim, It has been my privilege to work with you.

 


 

By Bob Campbell on 04/04/2017 (Published on RateABiz)

>>Debbie was excellent in the mechanics of the x-rays, cleaning, etc. and she made me feel at ease. Almost no pain or even discomfort.

Responded 04/13/2017

Bob I appreciate your trust in me. With your background in health care it is a huge compliment. I am so pleased I could work with you . Thank you letting me do my best work.

 


 

By Jackie A on 03/16/2017 (Published on RateABiz)

Dr. Otten is gentle and his work is exceptional. Every member of the staff is warm, caring and excellent at what they do. I drive all the way from Kansas City for care because my teeth deserve the best. 🙂

Responded 03/16/2017

Thank you so much for the compliment Jackie. We take great pride in providing you with the highest quality of care. We think your teeth deserve the best also! 🙂

Edit Response | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Extraordinary Service

100

 

 

By Chris Johnson on 02/16/2017 (Published on RateABiz)

The moment we came in everyone in the office knew my name. And it was the most thorough dental exam I have ever had.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Extraordinary Service

100

 

 

By Chris Johnson on 02/16/2017 (Published on RateABiz)

The moment we came in everyone in the office knew my name. And it was the most thorough dental exam I have ever had.

Responded 02/16/2017

Chris – we strive to make every experience a warm and welcoming as well as informative one! Thank you for placing your trust in us. It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to working with you! -Anh

Edit Response | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Sharing Knowledge Helps to Allay Dental Anxiety

100

 

 

By Ellen (Gaele) Gillespie on 01/26/2017 (Published on RateABiz)

Having regular dental check-ups is crucial, but it’s sometimes difficult when one has deep-seated dental anxieties. Also, during more than a year with a serious medical condition (finally diagnosed accurately and treated), I simply could not face yet more medical appointments, such as the dentist, so I had put off making my next dental appointment. Plus, I had decided to switch dentists, and a trusted friend who had completed a series of complicated dental procedures recommended Dr. James Otten. I gathered my courage, made an appointment, and I am firmly convinced that I made the correct move. Each person in the office introduced themselves to me and explained their role, including Dr. Otten. He and his staff seem genuinely interested in me as a person, not just as a patient (or worse, a “customer”). During each step of the appointment — from the new-patient intake interview, to the discussion of payment procedures, and throughout the time I was in the dental chair — each process or part of the procedure was explained to me, and that voluntary sharing of knowledge went a long way to make me a more informed patient AND helped me know what to expect, which in turn lowered my anxiety level. The equipment in the office and techniques employed are current and state-of-the-art, and each instrument used was explained to me in advance. Dr. Otten is a curious, involved, and knowledgeable professional, and the entire office staff are similarly professional and embody those positive attributes. I want to extend my sincere gratitude to Dr. Otten and the entire staff for not only accepting me as a new patient, but also for giving me such a genuinely warm and caring welcome and an educational/informational experience!

Responded 01/30/2017

Gaele, we want to thank you for taking such a big step in your dental care. We feel fortunate that you have chosen to come and see us, and we are truly grateful for the trust you have placed in us.

Edit Response | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

100

 

 

By Carol Abrahamson on 01/18/2017 (Published on RateABiz)

Your whole office is always great!!!!

Responded 01/18/2017

Thank you so much Carol, we truly do appreciate your trust in us over the years!

Edit Response | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Baby Steps

100

 

 

By Sherry Forge on 01/18/2017 (Published on RateABiz)

As a complete dental phob I am just starting to regain my smile. My first appointment was Tuesday and I was safe and secure because Dr. Otten and his staff made that happen.

Responded 01/18/2017

Sherry, we are so proud of you for taking this big step towards regaining your smile and feel so fortunate that you’ve chosen us to be a part of it! We are truly grateful for the trust you’ve placed in us. – Jim & Team

Edit Response | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Professional and friendly

100

 

 

By Joe Helget on 01/15/2017 (Published on RateABiz)

The staff was very nice and made me feel at home. It was nice to talk to a professional (Dr. Otten) who knows so much about TMJ and bruxism and is also passionate about helping with my situation.

Responded 01/17/2017

Thank you Joe! Dr. Otten is nationally recognized for his expertise in TMJ disorders. You have certainly come to the right place as we are here to help you and others like you become healthier.

Edit Response | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Teeth cleaning visit.

100

 

 

By Paul Soyland on 01/09/2017 (Published on RateABiz)

I had a teeth cleaning visit today and it was great. I visit Dr. Otten’s office regularly for checkups, cleanings and for invisalign brace checkups and all my visits always go well. Dr. Otten and all his staff are always punctual, friendly, professional and knowledgeable. I would highly recommend Dr Otten for any dental needs you might have.

Responded 01/09/2017

Thank you for compliment Paul. We take great pride providing you with the highest quality of care. We appreciate having you as a client. Debbie Rogers, RDH

Edit Response | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Professional, personable, efficient.

100

 

 

By Stephen Leibengood on 01/04/2017 (Published on RateABiz)

Great staff.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

100

 

 

By Marta Christie on 12/31/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

Dr. Otten was thorough and explained things clearly. I was impressed that he introduced himself to me and my husband at the very beginning. The staff was top-notch in being helpful and friendly. Financial arrangements were discussed successfully (I am retired and have a limited income). I had a pleasant visit at the office. Thank you.

Responded 01/03/2017

Marta – We are so glad you had a pleasant visit! We appreciate the trust you have placed in us for your care.

Edit Response | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Exceptional Care

100

 

 

By Clare Doveton on 12/31/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

I can honestly say I have never come across a dental office more caring, thoughtful and comprehensive. I have such confidence that Dr. Otten and his staff have the best plan for my smile possible – both aesthetically and for the long term. They look for the root of issues to prevent more in the future. My past dental care has revolved around patching these issues, only to come back again with the same or even more advanced problems later. Due to having a long history of all sorts of dental work, I have developed a well-deserved fear of dentist offices. But from the moment I walked in the door I was greeted with an overwhelming feeling of calm. They have thought of everything to make the patient feel relaxed and cared for in the space. Patients even refer to the examination room as the “Zen” room. I am actually looking forward to returning to see my dentist. And I guarantee I have never, ever said those words before. I am actually looking forward to going back to my dentist. And as someone with a long history of all kinds of various issues, I guarantee have never said that before. Dr. Otten and his staff have given me a greater understanding of how all the parts fit together.

Responded 01/03/2017

We truly appreciate your kind words, Clare. Thank you for the placing your trust in us for your care.

Edit Response | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

100

 

 

By Nadiya Yushchenko-Toelkes on 12/21/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

It is always perfectly well. I feel I have good and refreshed dental bridges and they will work better until next visit. Thanks a lot. I am always happy to see you, but to have less problems. Sincerely, Nadiya. December 21, 2016.

Responded 12/22/2016

It is always a pleasure to see you Nadiya. Thank you for placing your trust in us for your dental care.

Edit Response | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Excellent dental care, Deep knowledge, Fantastic service

100

 

 

By Mary S on 11/30/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

Dr. Otten and his team are pros from start to finish! The office is beautiful and peaceful. The staff greet every patient as if a friend just arrived. Dr. Otten’s has addressed issues with my jaw (persistent for 30+ years) and provided me the opportunity to do a lot more with much less or no pain. Occasionally when an issue flares up – the team is always there to help me get things back under control. I am very thankful to Dr. Otten and his team.

Responded 12/01/2016

Thank you Mary, we love seeing you and really appreciate your trust in us for your dental care!

Edit Response | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Amazing Doctor and Office Staff

100

 

 

By Cynthia Drake on 11/15/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

Dr. Otten is caring and very knowledgeable. He always does the highest quality work!!! His staff is friendly and helpful. As a medical doctor, I highly recommend him as a dentist.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

High Quality and Highly Pleasant Professional Service

100

 

 

By Joe Sicilian on 11/12/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

I am a sixty-eight year old man who has been a patient of Doctor Otten and his staff for about 10 years. Doctor Otten has has corrected problems that I had for most of my life and that other very good dentists were not able to fully solve. All his work is done with the highest quality and has resulted in my complete satisfaction. The staff at the office is also very professional and maintains a very high level of quality. Finally Doctor Otten and all members of the staff are extremely gracious and respectful of their clients. It is a pleasure to visit the office. I recommend Doctor Otten very highly and without reservation.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

100

 

 

By Claramae and George Highfill on 11/07/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

The cleaning of our teeth was the best ever, and and dental assistant was very skilled , making sure that the teeth were well cleaned. It is amazing that somehow, my teeth actually feel clean, and I did not think that I had much build up of plaque. Both of us brush our teeth after each meal and do not eat between meals. We feel fortunate to have Dr. Otten for our dental care since he is very knowledgeable and has given us good care for most of the years that we have lived in Lawrence. I do have a problem. I was shown a cushion piece for George to use to use to cushion his teeth when needed. I thought it was in the sack with the other things that you gave me, but it was not in the sack. I will be going to the Mecantile later this week and can stop and get it. claramae I do have problem. A mall cushion piece was shown to me for George to used to cushion his teeth when he might tend to grit this teeth, and I thought it was put in the sack wit the other items. However, when I took out things, it was not htere. I will be going to the Community Mercantile sometime soon and stop in to get it.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Excellent service, extremely friendly atmosphere

100

 

 

By Kris White on 10/27/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

The best experience I have ever had with a dentist and dental office. Without insurance perhaps pricey though I am willing to pay for such service and care.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Was worked in for an emergent appt and seen that day!

100

 

 

By Liliha Challender on 09/19/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

All of the staff in the office and the hygienist Joanna were excellent ! They made me feel very comfortable and cared about. Dr.Otten was amazing and took lots of time explaining things and was very knowledgeable,caring ,gentle.! I’m new to Lawrence and glad I found this practice as my new dentist.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Very kind and professional

100

 

 

By David Packard on 09/09/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

Dr. Otten is the best! He verified every aspect of my needs going beyond my initial dental disorder to find the root of the problem related to a bite issue along with a sleep apnea issue. This possibly is saving my life in addituin to my jaw health and my teeth!

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

professional, caring, efficient and competent

100

 

 

By Eileen J on 09/02/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

They saw me that same day since I was in distress, which I appreciate very much. The doctor and everyone else I encountered were kind, professional, competent and caring. I left with temporary relief and a plan for the future.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

High quality of service. Never refuse in emergency. Always know where and what to recommend in despite of our subjective opinion of the dental problem, even if we, patients do not like the objective opinion of the doctors.

100

 

 

By Nadiya YushchenkoToelkes on 08/30/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

This dental office and the colleagues of it were recommended in my complicated situation with implants and dentures, and, I hope, they never leave me without their assistance. We can truly discuss our questions and answers. Thanks for asking.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

I wouldn’t go to anyone else

100

 

 

By Thom Cloar on 08/30/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

I went in for a consultation and it went so well that I agreed to have the work done. Dr. Otten began work immediately saving me having to make another appointment. He has always done great work and is very knowledgable of all aspects of dentistry. I feel very comfortable going to him.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Professional and friendly.

100

 

 

By Denise Yoder on 08/23/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

I was in for my six month cleaning and check-up. I was greeted immediately. The hygienist was ready for me when I walked in the door. She was professional and friendly.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

100

 

 

By Sally Cloar on 08/15/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

All the people at the office are great: friendly, helpful, and just plain nice.

Responded 08/17/2016

Thank you Sally!

Edit Response | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Great hands

100

 

 

By Sean Santoro on 08/15/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

Dr. Otten is meticulous, innovative and thorough; and his technique displays a command of the art of dentistry. He has the hands of a concert violinist: strong, sensitive and precise. He has a high caliber staff that leavens fine professionalism with humor. The premises are up-to-date and immaculate. A professional experience of the highest standard of care.

Responded 08/17/2016

Thank you Sean for your kind words. We appreciate your trust in us for your dental care.

Edit Response | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

DELIGHTFUL Experience

100

 

 

By David Packard on 08/05/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

Dr. Otten is great at listening and offering solutions and is very experienced in multiple specialities. He explains his findings (even taking time to show them on video) and provides expert care. His associates were very kind to provide an orientation tour and to facilitate the care and procedures. I am a new patient who found the visit impressive and delightful.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Professionals who listen!

100

 

 

By Robert Campbell on 08/04/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

>It was my first substantive appointment there after an earlier “orientation” session. There was some uncomfortable diagnostic [rocedures that were as quick & painless as I could hope (no big deal, really). My dental situation is complicated but They informed me & kprepared me for the next, more difficult work. I approach it all with confidence that I am in good hands The facility is welcoming & comforting & the staff is competent & congenial.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

This is the best dental office!

100

 

 

By arla barelli on 07/22/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

You guys are the best!!! No pain, all my needs met, great people, and being in the hands of a true professional always makes things go better!

Responded 07/25/2016

Thank you Arla for your kind words. We appreciate your trust in us for your dental care.

Edit Response | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

A very positive experience. I’m optimistic that we will make progress.

100

 

 

By Robert Campbell on 07/07/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

>It was a very good “orientation” session Very businesslike and professional, yet very cordial. i was certainly put at ease. > >I especially like the upfront approach to the procedures as well as the financial factors.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

First Impressions

100

 

 

By Arla Barelli on 06/30/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

Today was my first visit with Dr Otten and his office. What a wonderful experience! I was greeted personally and then given a tour of the office. His assistant, Ahn, sat down and talked with me about my health and dental concerns. There was never a sense of being rushed or lack of interest. Dr Otten was very gracious and again, showed personal interest. The visit and exam was done very well with explanations given at each step as to what was being done and why. He is extremely thorough and obviously knows his field. I never felt as though things were rushed or procedures were being pushed on me. He takes his time and will analyze all the tests before making recommendations. Overall it was a very pleasant impressive experience and I know I am in the hands of an expert who knows his stuff and will get me to where I want to be. He will get to the root of the problem and not just superficial treatment. I’m very grateful my dentist referred me!

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

100

 

 

By Amy L on 06/23/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

Awesome experience. Very personable and wonderful care.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

100

 

 

By Lois Cochran on 06/21/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

Very professional and kind. The provide high quality of services. I am greatful to the whole team.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

100

 

 

By Stephen Hill on 06/15/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

I felt very welcomed by every one and was reassured by the very professional performance.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

A very happy patient

100

 

 

By Nancy Hughes on 06/14/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

I deeply appreciate the professional and caring service I have received over the past 20 + years as a patient of Dr. Otten and his staff, At almost every visit, I learn something new about dentistry and how dental care relates to overall health.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

100

 

 

By Carlena Haney on 04/18/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

Just fine.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

100

 

 

By Jim G on 04/02/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

I completely trust my dental care to Dr Otten and his staff. I always receive the best results possible and in a very professional and friendly manner.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Great as always

100

 

 

By Cheri McGaw on 03/31/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

Have used Dr. Otten’s services for over 30 years. Wouldn’t go any where else.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

100

 

 

By Thom Cloar on 03/25/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

Cleanning and xrays. All went well and there was no pain.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Outstanding service!

100

 

 

By Esther McKinsey on 03/10/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

I have been a patient at this office for many years. Staff is always very friendly and personable, would highly recommended for all your dental needs!

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Very through and kind!

100

 

 

By Betty chung on 03/09/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

Normally, I would never give a review but the service here is really amazing! Everyone is extremely friendly and really makes you feel comfortable. The doctor explained exactly what she observed in my teeth and showed me visuals to back her claims. She also explained what each tool was used for when cleaning my teeth. They really seem to care about your heath, not just currently, but for long term. Receptionist even greeted me by first name when I walked in! Love love love this dentist, which is a pretty strange thing to say about a dental place!

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

First appointment

100

 

 

By Yousef Al-Hunaif on 03/09/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

They taught me a lot about what i lacked from not knowing how to brush my teeth. Also very educational

Responded 03/15/2016

Thank you Yousef, we are looking forward to helping with your dental health!

Edit Response | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Visit Review

100

 

 

By Bruce Twarog on 03/08/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

As always, the staff was prompt, friendly, and professional. The appointment went smoothly and I enjoyed the interaction. Having digital X-rays is a plus in time and efficiency.

Wonderful Dentist & Staff

100

 

 

By Jon Mohr on 02/19/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

I’ve been to a fair amount of dentists in the area but Dt. Otten and his staff are the most professional and knowledgeable. They are very kind, offer a comfortable environment and are generous with their time. It’s a no-brainer if you need a dentist in Lawrence and is even worth the commute from the KC Metro area.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

wow!

100

 

 

By mandie soza on 02/10/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

I am completely blown away. I have severe anxiety with dentists and I have never felt more at home. I will never ever go any place else.

Responded 03/07/2016

Thank you Mandie for your kind words. I’m so glad we could help you. Debbie

Edit Response | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Never Dread My Dentist Visit Again!

100

 

 

By Mary Hatfield on 02/04/2016 (Published on RateABiz)

Dr. Otten’s office staff exudes friendliness, competence, and hospitality. From the minute you walk inside, a peaceful setting with drinks and even a water feature awaits you. Dr. Otten has served as my dentist for about 25 years and never have I had anything but superior treatment and care.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

warm and welcoming!

100

 

 

By Hailey Belcher on 12/09/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

Very welcoming when I first walked in and showed me around the office. Always say hello to me and I don’t have to wait for very long for my appointment. Very approachable and I feel I can ask any question that I have without hesitation. Wonderful group of people!!

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

100

 

 

By Anna Hines on 12/08/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

I had a chipped crown and just stopped by to see if someone could take a look at it. You guys got me right in and were great!!!

Responded 12/09/2015

Thank you Anna for the kind words. It was a pleasure to to see you!

Edit Response | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

High quality, processional service, etc.

100

 

 

By John Brewer on 11/19/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

A great job, as always. Had a bridge put in instead of a mutant or whatever they call the other kind.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

100

 

 

By Eliza Bullock on 10/05/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

I am always greeted with a warm smile and attentive staff. The office is a lovely, peaceful, warm setting that puts me at ease. With Dr. Otten I know my health and well being are at the core of what he suggests when we consider the different options for my dental care. I have the utmost confidence in his work and know that all my long term care needs are being considered.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Teeth CLeaning as an Enlightening Experience

100

 

 

By Diana Justus on 09/02/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

Besides wonderfully clean teeth, Debbie always gives me an education on how to take better care of my teeth and gums at home, and leaves me eager to try her recommendations.. Professional expertise and genunie caring are an unbeatable combination.

Responded 09/19/2015

Thank you Diana, it is always wonderful to see you. I’m so glad I so glad I can be of help. Debbie

Edit Response | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

High quality service and very friendly attitude during the appointments.

100

 

 

By Nadiya Yushchenko-Toelkes on 09/01/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

They are always ready to help, to solve our health problems, to make changes for appointments, to recommend other specialists to help, to provide proper pharmacy where to get medications for dental treatments during and after visits their office/dental clinics. Thanks a lot.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

100

 

 

By Pat Slabaugh on 08/26/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

My experience was very good, the TEAM is well organized and very professional

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Unparalled Quality Care

100

 

 

By Cynthia Drake, M.D. on 07/29/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

Warm,Caring Office Staff and Atmosphere Dr. Otten is an amazing doctor who is extremely knowledgeable and a perfectionist. I would highly recommend anyone to his care.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Local GREATNESS!

100

 

 

By Sam Byer on 07/17/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

It was my first appt, as I’m a new patient of Dr. Otten’s. I went to the appt dreading the lecture of you need this, that and whatever else completed as soon as possible. If you (we) wait any longer there will be problems that we don’t want to know. So, the sooner the better and this is the fee. BUT, that wasn’t the case with Dr. Otten. He offered reassurance that “yes” there are concerns. HOWEVER, lets approach it as what will work best with “you” (his patient); whether it’s financial, schedule, etc. An approach that I don’t get not too often. It was a great refresh and honest experience. Also, the staff was AMAZING in every way. Extremely friendly to a fault that is good for me. HIGHLY, HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!! Your patient for a lifetime!!

Responded 07/20/2015

Thank you for the kind review! We look forward to seeing you again and welcome you to our dental family!

Edit Response | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Always a pleasure to visit my Dentist Office

100

 

 

By Pam Rusk on 07/17/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

Debbie did a great job with my cleaning and x-rays. She always takes the time to explain what she is doing and why. Thanks also for the information on the Sonic care toothbrush and giving me a mail in rebate so I can receive more than 1/2 the cost back in a refund. Every dollar saved is greatly appreciated. Thanks to the entire team. I always look forward to seeing you. I recommend Dr Otten and his team to all my family and friends. ;-D They keep me smiling.

Responded 07/20/2015

Thank you!! We appreciate your trust in us to recommend us to your family and friends!

Edit Response | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Always the best

100

 

 

By Terri Ferguson on 07/12/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

Even though I sometimes find myself hesitating to make necessary appointments like I should out of fear I suppose, I am always made to feel welcome, safe, and respected when i am in Dr. Otten’s office. He, and his staff are A1! I truly appreciate all you all do! Terri Ferguson

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

100

 

 

By Amy Risley on 07/02/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

VERY thorough exam and WONDERFUL customer service! I would highly recommend Dr. Otten!

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Dental hygienist is awesome.

80

 

 

By Mary Ellen Fagan on 06/15/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

Their dental hygienist is very thorough and is efficient doing the x-rays.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Great place!

100

 

 

By Marva Clark on 06/15/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

The staff and Dr Otten are so so friendly and professional! Dr Otten is very thourough and explains things in a way we can understand. Too bad we are so far away, We would definitely be seeing you for our regular visits.

Responded 06/15/2015

Thank you! We know that you had a long trip and we appreciate you coming to see us!

Edit Response | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

100

 

 

By Judy Dailey on 06/09/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

OK! I hate to do these, but I will. But I can’t think of anything to complain about. I got right in for my appt., was treated nicely, and had a good time. That’s it!

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

100

 

 

By Nancy Hughes on 06/09/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

Dr. Otten and his staff are highly skilled, professional, timely and concerned. I always leave an appointment feeling well taken care of and impressed with how smoothly the office functions. I’ve had great dental care in my life and Dr. Otten is at the very top of the pyramid.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Best Dentist in Town!

100

 

 

By Diane Horning on 06/08/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

Jim and Vickie Otten and their staff create an atmosphere of kindness and confidence in all that they do. They take such loving care of all of their patients and their teeth!

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

100

 

 

By Terri Randall on 05/27/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

Excellent experience!

Responded 05/28/2015

Thank you for the kind review! We look forward to seeing you again!

Edit Response | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Excellent service and care

100

 

 

By Leonard Hollmann on 05/15/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

This appointment was for a problem that had suddenly occurred. Dr. Otten’s office was kind enough to schedule me within a couple of hours. There was no waiting and the problem was fixed within a short time. A pleasant experience.

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

Awesome visit as usual

100

 

 

By zharif shariffudin on 04/28/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

As usual, an awesome visit! very friendly, very efficient, and informative! although, being asked questions when my mouth is being cleaned is challenging, but hey, i’ll take it!

Respond | Remove From Website | Publish to Social | Report Review

I can *always* wait to go back to the dentist, but when I have to, I go back to Otten’s clinic.

100

 

 

By John Brewer on 04/21/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

I am a junior senior citizen with a bunch of crowns that Jim installed decades ago and which have *never* given me any trouble. Now I have one tooth that is reabsorbing itself, so I will have to have to extracted eventually and replaced by a bridge. I am totally comfortable with this plan but I am in no hurry for it to happen.

Always like family!

 

 

 

By Jerry Masinton on 04/19/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

I always enjoy my visits at Jim Otten’s office because the people there are just like family members. They genuinely care about everyone they see. Its not just a routine dental appointment when you get there. It’s like a visit with best friends or family. In addition, the office is an uncommonly relaxing and inviting place. Jerry Masinton

 

 

 

By saundra pichelman on 04/16/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

Very informative. Pictures, x-rays, models are all used to explain what needs to be done in your case to make everything better.

Great

 

 

 

By Carol Abrahamson on 04/15/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

Very friendly and helpful. Good cleaning, etc.

Look forward to coming back

 

 

 

By Weishi Liu on 04/02/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

It has always been a pleasant experience to visit Dr. Otten’s office. People in the office are professional, friendly, and respectful. Most of all, treatments improve my teeth function a great deal.

 

 

By Carlena Haney on 03/23/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

Jim and his staff are top notch. I would recommend them without question.

Best dentist I’ve ever had!

 

 

 

By Liza Tauscher on 03/12/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

Dr. Otten and his staff are amazing. They make sure that everything is as comfortable as can be, and they ensure that you are informed about the steps they are taking for your treatment. Getting my cavity filled was a painless experience and afterwards, I was given a detailed explanation of the situation and the possible next steps involved in my treatment. I graduate in May from KU, but I will have to come back to Lawrence just to go to the dentist! I’m so glad I found this place.

 

 

By Hanuh Dale on 03/10/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

All of the staff was very genuine and friendly, a great quaint environment that came across almost ‘zen’. You could tell that they actually cared about your satisfaction as well as long-term well being, knowing that they will be with you for a prolonged amount of time. Also had an extremely nice waiting room and coffee bar!

 

 

By Thom Cloar on 02/26/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

The experience was painless and overall very comfortable. She was very aware of when to rinse and dry my mouth, while being very through about the deep cleaning process. The Hygienist was very good about explaining everything she was doing and very responsive too all of my questions.

Responded 02/26/2015

Thank you Thom for the very nice review and choosing us for your dental care.

 

 

 

By Anne Boss on 02/11/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

Dr. Otten and Staff are absolutely deserving of a 5 star rating!! Today was my first visit and it was the best experience I’ve ever had at a dentist office. I’ll be recommending them to everyone! Thank you Brenda, Deb and Dr. Otten!

 

 

By Bernard Judge on 02/11/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

Had my teeth cleaned today, 2-11-15, and as usual she did a great job. Also. had a problem with a tooth and the Technician took an X-ray and determined the tooth had an abscess. She set up an appointment with an Endodontist for a root canal. Excellent service.

 

 

 

By Monika Eichler on 02/10/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

My conversations with Debbie and Dr. Otten are always so empowering for my self-care and they are such experts in their field. I have such incredible trust in their capacity as dental care providers. If only everyone had such an experience with their dental team. Caring. Professional. Experts.

 

 

By Denise Yoder on 02/01/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

I was in the office for Dr. Otten to look at a tooth that was bothering me. I was worked into his busy schedule, but was promptly taken care of. Dr. Otten took the time to figure out what was going on and how to treat it.

 

 

 

By Daniel H on 01/08/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

Everyone set the standard for professional dental care. Very nice helpful people.

 

 

 

By Anonymous on 01/07/2015 (Published on RateABiz)

Dr. Jim was full of humor and spunk today! He rocks! I love the warmth and caring of the people in this office and Debbie cleans my teeth until they are so clean I don’t want to eat for days!

 

 

 

By Linda K. on 12/02/2014 (Published on RateABiz)

Dr. Otten and his staff are very kind and caring, not to mention extremely professional. Dr. Otten is very thorough in his work and my TMJ issues are quickly resolving. And, I have to mention, they give the best teeth cleanings ever! I have nothing but good things to say!! 🙂

 

 

 

By Devin on 11/12/2014 (Published on RateABiz)

Dr. Otten and his team did a great job. Very kind and friendly people.

 

 

 

By Virgil Brady on 11/12/2014 (Published on RateABiz)

I am elated; Jim worked me in so we could make our deadline trip to CA. He work hard on me for over 3 hours,after hours until 7:30 p.m. (as did Molly) Jim certainly went the second mile and I am very very grateful.Thre is not question about the quality of his work.

 

 

 

By Meagan Heath DDS on 10/25/2014 (Published on RateABiz)

Having lived and practiced dentistry in four different states I can truly say that Dr. James Otten is one of the most talented, educated, compassionate and skilled dentists I have ever met. He takes the time to listen and actully get to know his patients treating them like he would family. After your very detailed exam Dr. Otten continues to go above and beyond spending hours analyzing x-rays, models and consulting with specialists, making sure every option to achieve the most successful out come has been explored. Lawrence is extremely lucky to have a dentist with as much training as Dr. Otten and I wish more people in the community new what a valuable asset he really is.

 

 

 

By Dr. Brad Osborn on 08/25/2014 (Published on RateABiz)

Dr. Otten provides a level of personal, individualized care that I have experienced all too seldom in my past experiences with other dentists.

 

 

 

By Mary Drouin on 08/20/2014 (Published on RateABiz)

I thought I was walking into a spa! I was greeted like “family” and the care Ireceived felt the same. Dr. Otten is much more than a dentist; he is a caregiver. He was so involved in determining symptoms I displayed, he wanted to make sure they were related to dental care. He tested me for sleep apnea, referred me to a sleep specialist and, voila, he was correct. The best experience I have ever had at a dental office! Kudos to him and his team. Beyond grateful….

 

 

 

By Luke Jordan on 07/28/2014 (Published on RateABiz)

Dr. Otten is an excellent dentist: skilled, knowledgeable, dedicated. For me, the most impressive aspect of his practice is the respect he shows to the entire staff; the office can have the ‘vibe’ of a teaching hospital at a university. They all work very well together!

 

 

 

By Heather Guy on 07/23/2014 (Published on RateABiz)

The staff is always so welcoming and the office environment is relaxing. Patient education is an important focus of the team which is sometimes overlooked by other healthcare professionals.

 

 

 

By SJC on 07/14/2014 (Published on RateABiz)

Great people, great skill. What more is needed?

 

 

 

By Anonymous on 07/13/2014 (Published on RateABiz)

Professional, caring and high quality work. Nice people, too!

 

 

 

By Andi Parson on 06/21/2014 (Published on RateABiz)

appt. was kept on time–a good thing staff showed interest in Donn’s surgery & recovery careful yet friendly service I like the ultrasound cleaning thing-y The stars on the ratings are almost invisible and then are not recognized

 

 

 

By Rak@sunflower.com on 06/18/2014 (Published on RateABiz)

Very professional, friendly and made made you feel comfortable. Each procedure was explained and easily understood. The support staff were friendly and personable. Would recommend Dr. Otten for your dental needs. RAK